Learn the foundations

Poomsae is an important part of Taekwondo
Each grade/belt has its own pattern or 'Poomsae' that you will learn to master

Kup & Dan Poomsae


Poomsae is a series of movements for offense and defense techniques, which can be practiced and trained, even without presence of an instructor, in accordance with the fixed patterns. The nature of Taekwondo is that life and the art are as one. Therefore each Poomsae has it's own definition which you need to know for your gradings. Purpose of Poomsae
  • Understanding of the significance of Poomsae
  • A perfect movements and the direction of Poomsae lines
  • Movement of the centre of balance
  • Strong power (Stance/twisting/relaxation)
  • Speed (Fast and Slow, Strong and Soft, Natural movements)
  • Rhythm and Tempo
  • The eyes and respiration
  • Expression of Ki

Kup Grade Poomsae

TaeGuk - the origin of all things in the universe
Giboneil & Sajigjuligi the 2 basic beginner patterns we all learn. TaeGuk II Jang 18 movements, meaning: Heaven & Light TaeGuk Ee Jang 18 movements, meaning: Joyfulness TaeGuk Sam Jang 20 movements, meaning: Fire & Sun TaeGuk Sah Jang 20 movements, meaning: Thunder TaeGuk Oh Jang 20 movements, meaning: Wind TaeGuk Yuk Jang 23 movements, meaning: Water TaeGuk Chil Jang 25 movements, meaning: Mountain TaeGuk Pal Jang 24 movements, meaning: Earth

Dan Grade Poomsae

Koryo 30 movements, meaning: (Korea) is the name of an ancient dynasty Keumgang 27 movements, meaning: Diamond Taebaek 26 movements, meaning: Mount Baekdoo Pyongwon 25 movements, meaning: Plain Sipjin 31 movements, meaning: Decimal Jitae 28 movements, meaning: Earth (The origin & terminal of life) Chonkwon 27 movements, meaning: Sky Hansu 27 movements, meaning: Water Ilyeo 24 movements, meaning: Oneness For further information and details, download the UTA NI Grading Knowledge PDF from the downloads section below.

comments are closed.